Malignaggi, Lobov bash fight officials after BKFC 6

Artem Lobov and his challenger in the main event of BKFC 6, Paulie Malignaggi have both expressed disappointment in the decision of the officials.

The two men met on Saturday night in Tampa, Florida, as they looked to settle the ‘beef’, and the outcome favored Lobov. However, the two men felt the fight officials did not adequately handle the fight.  

In his post-fight conference, Malignaggi felt the decision of the judges was impartial, lambasting them for awarding the result to his opponent.

“I pretty much got the worst of everything because I got a shit decision and I made a tic-tac-toe board out of his face with my left hand,” Paulie Malignaggi said (via MMA Fighting). “Look at my face, I got hit literally in one clinch. In one clinch, I got hit and that’s it. I took a couple of shots in that one clinch that he got me, I thought I did a pretty good job in clinches other than that, and really nothing else landed. I was very comfortable boxing.

“Luckily, I have experience fighting with one hand from earlier in my career, breaking my right hand so many times, so even when my right hand was gone I thought I boxed very well in three, four, and five. He got me in the clinch in three, but other than that I thought four and five—I mean five he didn’t land at all. I was popping him with jabs and check left hooks constantly. You want to give him four, I don’t think you can, but I guess if they want to give it to him.”

On his part, Lobov berated the fight ref for restricting him to fully make use of the clinch, the decision which for him was to the advantage of his opponent Malignaggi at BKFC 6.

“I was a little bit surprised with the way the referee kind of worked the clinch. He was on top of me right away, trying to break up the clinch,” Lobov said (via MMA Fighting). “If you look at some of the boxing fights, even in the boxing fights where the clinch is not allowed, they allow people to work a little longer in the clinch than they did in this where the clinch is allowed.

“The one time where Paulie’s talking about where I caught him and I was landing shots and then the ref comes on top of me and pulls me off. I’m like what’s going on and he says ‘you’ve got to be landing shots’ and I’m like what the f—k was I doing do you think? I was landing shots. I was throwing shots.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.